Rachel

This is my first BLOG to write and have published!  I thought a great way to begin, would be to dedicate this first writing to my daughter Rachel.

Tomorrow is her birthday, not just any ordinary birthday…she will turn 13.  She has been showing signs that there is a teenager getting ready to show its self to the world.  As we all know, all these changes and challenges don’t happen on the day you turn 13.  It has already been in the process of working its way towards this day.  She now wears make-up and can apply nail polish without any difficulty.  Her tastes in clothing is constantly changing and she is a very ‘snappy’ dresser!  Watching her tackle projects like science fairs and art exhibits is amazing to me.  Taking her to middle school everyday is something I look forward to.  We pray together in the car for her day as we drive along…yes, God can hear and answer our prayers as we drive.

I always wondered what it would feel like to be the parent of a teenager.  I am proud to be her dad and watch this little girl turn into a beautiful young woman.  Every dad should have this opportunity that God has given me.  I thank Him for the blessing of being Rachel’s dad.

So Rachel…Happy Birthday!  I cannot wait to see what happens in these ‘teen’ years!!

Love,

Dad

2 comments

  1. Rick, what a wonderful first post. It’s been so many years since I last saw Rachel that it’s hard for me to imagine that she’s a teen already. I know that she’s been a blessing to you guys every day of those 13 years. Congratulations.

    And thanks for choking me up a little on a Thursday morning!

Leave a Reply

