A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

I enjoy eating at Ghirmaldi’s Pizzeria in Sugar Land.  While there, I like looking at the vintage black & white New York City photos they have hanging on the walls.  They are shots taken during the early 1900’s to the 1960’s.

There is one photo from 1940 that always catches my eye.  The photo is taken at a distance, from the direction of The Statue of Liberty across the bay.  It feels as though I could go back in time every time I see it.  I can’t put my finger on it, but it has something about it that makes it very inviting.
Have you ever had a photograph do that to you?  One that can actually stir up feelings and affect the senses?  I have seen childhood photos and all of a sudden a feeling comes over you that takes you back to that moment…you can even smell things that are associated to that photograph.

One comment

  1. Looking at childhood photos always makes me so nostalgic! 🙂 I find photos that evoke emotion or tell a story are much more meaningful than those that are just a matter of skill or physical beauty.

Leave a Reply

